First Snow of the Season

I woke up this morning to a beautiful, frosty landscape. We had a light dusting of snow, no more than 2 cm (just under an inch) accumulation, but it sure made me excited :).

IMGP5791

IMGP5796

IMGP5800

Norway Spruces (left) and Black Oak Ridge.

IMGP5814

I met a curious deer along the way. 🙂

IMGP5824

Nearing the summit of Black Oak Ridge.

I could never understand why so many local residents these days scorn our winters and the “horrid cold”. I guess it’s because most of them are new to the region and they haven’t yet become used to it. Oh well…I’ll leave them to gripe and grumble about the weather until May.

Second to autumn, winter is my favourite time of year. The frosty air, the hidden, sleeping essence in the forest, and snow make it an enjoyable season. Some would look at the landscape and call it “desolate”, but there is still life to be seen and heard – white-tailed deer, bobcats, foxes, coyotes, squirrels, and a variety of winter birds, to name a few. The fact that the woodlands and fields are no longer lush green and covered in a crystalline, snowy quilt doesn’t give a bleak appearance to my eye – I find it beautiful, full of scenic wonders waiting for the outdoorsman/woman to discover :).

 

Leave a Reply

